Is soy sauce halal?
Login to our social questions & Answers Engine to ask questions answer people’s questions & connect with other people.
Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link and will create a new password via email.
Please briefly explain why you feel this question should be reported.
Please briefly explain why you feel this answer should be reported.
Please briefly explain why you feel this user should be reported.
Soy sauce is generally considered halal if the alcohol content is naturally derived and within the permissible limit of 1 to 3%. If the alcohol is artificially added or exceeds this limit, the soy sauce becomes haram and should be avoided. It’s important to check the source of the alcohol used in the soy sauce to ensure it does not originate from dates or grapes and is not used as an intoxicant.
And Allah knows best.
Sources: